5 ways to have better work relationships

Relationships‘ have a great importance in my life because people are my passion – I love everything related to people –  guiding them, making some kind of difference in their lives, laughing with them and being a shoulder to cry on.  Just being with people, is what makes me tick.

In fact, you all will agree with me that relationships give a meaning to our lives, no matter if it is personal or professional. I can talk from my personal experience that it is that one thing that has helped me evolve and grow as a person.

Here are some of the tips that have helped me  personally to maintain a better workplace relationship:

Personal touch: I agree, technology is making things easy for us but at the same time we should remember to maintain the personal touch with people. It can be just giving a  birthday card personally to your employee, but it helps to maintain the rapport.

Respect for each other: No matter you are a trainee or a owner of the company, respect each other’s qualities, perspective and contribution. Every job is equally important.

Networking: I would say it happens better when done in an informal environment. Taking your colleague or a teammate out for a coffee or a lunch, helps in developing our internal network and a strong working rapport.

Go the extra mile: I have experienced that to ‘go the extra mile‘  helps people to get engaged and develop trust to the level where they do much more than what is expected of them.It can be as simple as helping employee’s spouses with career guidances or finding the best school for their kids. 

Honest feedback: The only way to evolve and grow is through honest feedbacks. Giving constructive feedback  helps in building a strong relationship. Also, appreciating the efforts of doing their best and also setting high standards helps in raising the bar.

We build relationships at every step of our life and I personally learn from each and every relationship. Building and maintaining relationships not only motivate and engage people but also improve the productivity of the organisations.

I will, of course, be  developing these thoughts further in an on-going series of the organisational culture, but your suggestions are welcome and will play a vital role in making this series more interactive and ultimately, useful to the community.

Image: via

Leave a comment